Anti-Polygamy Legislation

When women of the Church did not vote to ban polygamy in Utah, efforts increased at the national level to outlaw the practice. These efforts eventually led to the passage of the Edmunds-Tucker Act, also named the Anti-Plural Marriage Act of 1887. The Edmunds-Tucker Act prohibited the practice of polygamy and disenfranchised the women of Utah.